Nina Halperin
Nina Halperin  Identity Verified
Peru
Local time: 06:15
Spanish to English
+ ...
Sep 28, 2021

Hello,

I wasn't sure what forum area to post this question in, as I didn't see an area specifically related to transcription. As I mentioned just now in a "money matters" forum, a new agency recently contacted me regarding possible future projects involving transcribing Spanish audios and then translating the transcription into English. They said some clients may ask for time stamps. I was doing some research on time stamps, since I have never worked with them before, and had a few
... See more
Hello,

I wasn't sure what forum area to post this question in, as I didn't see an area specifically related to transcription. As I mentioned just now in a "money matters" forum, a new agency recently contacted me regarding possible future projects involving transcribing Spanish audios and then translating the transcription into English. They said some clients may ask for time stamps. I was doing some research on time stamps, since I have never worked with them before, and had a few questions. Just say the client requests periodic time stamps every 30 seconds. Do the time stamps [00:00:30], [00:01:00], [00:01:30], [00:02:00], etc. go before or after the word that was said at each of those respective intervals? If only periodic time stamps are requested, do I still put in phonetic and inaudible time stamps, or do I only use them if they are specifically requested? If they are not specifically requested, do I just put in "[inaudible]" for example, without the time listed? Could someone maybe give me an example of an invented segment with the use of time stamps so I can get a better idea of proper usage? Every web site seems to have a slightly different take on it. Thanks so much!
Collapse

William Bowley
William Bowley
United Kingdom
Local time: 12:15
Spanish to English
+ ...
Personal preference Oct 1, 2021