software translation - i was wondering whether any of you had any general tips
Thread poster: stephanieL
stephanieL
stephanieL
English to Italian
Jan 29, 2007

hi. im about to start translating a software. i have never done any such thing before and i was wondering whether any of you had any general tips .. where do i find the translation for a technical term or phrase? ...

thank you.

stephanie

mjbjosh
mjbjosh
Local time: 15:47
English to Latvian
+ ...
MS Glossary Jan 30, 2007

stephanieL wrote:

where do i find the translation for a technical term or phrase? ...

http://www.microsoft.com/globaldev/tools/MILSGlossary.mspx

Şadan Öz
Şadan Öz  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 16:47
English to Turkish
Context Jan 30, 2007

While translating the sentences or similar items, be careful for context. Sometimes you may see one word such as "To:" or "From:"
If you unsure what does it mean, ask client, if possible.
Try to find helpful descriptions and any other material about the software.
Good luck

László Kovács
László Kovács  Identity Verified
Member (2006)
English to Hungarian
+ ...
Use Microsoft glossaries Jan 30, 2007

If you are translating a software that runs on Windows platform, you may find MS glossaries useful:

(sorry, I clicked the button twice

[Edited at 2007-01-30 11:27]

László Kovács
László Kovács  Identity Verified
Member (2006)
English to Hungarian
+ ...
Use Microsoft glossaries Jan 30, 2007

If you are translating a software that runs on Windows platform, you may find MS glossaries useful:

Cristina Mazzucchelli
Cristina Mazzucchelli  Identity Verified
Italy
English to Italian
+ ...
Ask the client for glossaries and... Jan 30, 2007

My advice would be the same as László's, nevertheless I would also ask the client for any specific glossaries/style guides they might already have that could help you out with the translation.