Regular expressions and replacing strings of text
Thread poster: l3goman (X)
l3goman (X)
l3goman (X)
English to Spanish
Aug 22, 2014

Hi everyone,

I am currently studying the use of regular expressions and their use, but I am stuck on the "replace" part of the process. Can I also use regular expressions to replace whatever strings i have found?

For example, changing all the commas in numbers for periods or non-breaking spaces:
-253,000 to 253.000 or 253 000

I can fin the occurrences of these numbers with the following regular expression:

([0-9]{3}),([0-9]{3}) - This re
... See more
Hi everyone,

I am currently studying the use of regular expressions and their use, but I am stuck on the "replace" part of the process. Can I also use regular expressions to replace whatever strings i have found?

For example, changing all the commas in numbers for periods or non-breaking spaces:
-253,000 to 253.000 or 253 000

I can fin the occurrences of these numbers with the following regular expression:

([0-9]{3}),([0-9]{3}) - This regex would theoretically find all numbers from 100,000 to 999,999

The problema I have is that when I try to replace it with, for example, ([0-9]{3}).([0-9]{3}) (replacing the comma with a period or a space), the numbers get replaced by the actual regex and not for what it represents.

Problem: 253,000 gets replaced by ([0-9]{3}).([0-9]{3}) and not 253.000.

Is it actually possible to do this or is it just to find strings of text? Am i doing anything wrong?

Thanks in advance

[Edited at 2014-08-22 23:22 GMT]
Collapse

Rolf Keller
Rolf Keller
Germany
Local time: 15:57
English to German
Use Google for Regex examples Aug 24, 2014

l3goman wrote:

Can I also use regular expressions to replace whatever strings i have found?

Yes.

Am i doing anything wrong?

Yes.

1 – you didn't mention the software environment resp the regex dialect you use. There are several dialects.