Thread poster: Joachim Koehler
Joachim Koehler
Joachim Koehler  Identity Verified
Switzerland
Local time: 16:12
German to English
+ ...
Sep 15, 2013

Is there anybody with any experience of how to handle the continuation opr sale of a translation business after retirement ? For example, the owner of a well-know translation agency (established over 25 years ago & with an impeccable record) with a large house in the Hérault, Southern France would like to retire. How can that be arranged? Any suggestions, ideas or experience ?

Kuochoe Nikoi-Kotei
Kuochoe Nikoi-Kotei  Identity Verified
Ghana
Local time: 14:12
Japanese to English
Maybe not much help, but... Sep 15, 2013

I have no experience at all, but what I might consider if I were in your shoes would be contacting nearby competitors and offering your business to them for sale. They would take over your regular clients and inherit your translator database (with the permission of all parties concerned, of course) and then you could work out a smooth transition with them.

I say nearby competitors simply because you'd really want to meet people face-to-face and work things out with them when it come
... See more
I have no experience at all, but what I might consider if I were in your shoes would be contacting nearby competitors and offering your business to them for sale. They would take over your regular clients and inherit your translator database (with the permission of all parties concerned, of course) and then you could work out a smooth transition with them.

I say nearby competitors simply because you'd really want to meet people face-to-face and work things out with them when it comes to major decisions like the sale/continuation of a business.
Collapse

Alex Lago
Alex Lago  Identity Verified
Spain
English to Spanish
+ ...
Business or freelancer Sep 15, 2013

Is this a business (i.e. a company with employees) or a freelance operation in which one person takes care of everything.

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT