Trados 06 problem: error messages / corrupt segment? Search by segment no.?
Thread poster: Emma Gledhill
Emma Gledhill
Emma Gledhill
Switzerland
Local time: 19:33
German to English
+ ...
Nov 7, 2006

I've been using Trados for nearly 9 years so I know my way about pretty well but a problem has me stumped.

Just been sent a txt export file which I have tried to import into the appropriate TM but the import fails, giving me an "Inconsistent data" error message.

In order to try and remedy that error, I tried reorganising the TM, but the reorg kept hanging at a particular segment number. Reorganisation having failed, I tried to export the entire TM in order to reimport i
... See more
I've been using Trados for nearly 9 years so I know my way about pretty well but a problem has me stumped.

Just been sent a txt export file which I have tried to import into the appropriate TM but the import fails, giving me an "Inconsistent data" error message.

In order to try and remedy that error, I tried reorganising the TM, but the reorg kept hanging at a particular segment number. Reorganisation having failed, I tried to export the entire TM in order to reimport it into a new TM. This export also failed, returning a "Source segment is empty" error.

OK, now I'm puzzled because "Source segment is empty" is a translation error rather than an import/export error IYSWIM. So it would appear that a segment (segment number known) has got into the TM with an empty source.

So my questions are as follows:

1. Is there any way the supplied exported txt file could have introduced this segment (i.e. go back to the client)

2. If not, is there any way of searching (Maintenance?) for a particular segment number in the TM?

3. Failing that, is there a way of searching (again Maintenance?) for an empty source string so I can delete the corrupt segment?

4. Or is the TM (and hence am I) totally and completely boogered?

Any help would be very welcome!!

TIA
Collapse

Stefan de Boeck (X)