Thread poster: Oliver Walter
Oliver Walter
Oliver Walter  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 19:55
German to English
+ ...
Feb 26, 2013

I received the following email yesterday (I've replaced his/her name with ***) and I would be very surprised if it were genuine. (Also, note that he is "locking forward" to hearing from me!)
This email does not give a company name, address or phone number and is from a gmail account.

------------ begin quoted mail ---------------
Dear freelancer,

I’m a project manager and I am looking for freelancer translators who can translate English to German and vice
... See more
I received the following email yesterday (I've replaced his/her name with ***) and I would be very surprised if it were genuine. (Also, note that he is "locking forward" to hearing from me!)
This email does not give a company name, address or phone number and is from a gmail account.

------------ begin quoted mail ---------------
Dear freelancer,

I’m a project manager and I am looking for freelancer translators who can translate English to German and vice versa. Freelancers must have the following qualifications.

1- Can finish the project within the agreed upon period

2- Have an experience of at least one year.

We are searching for the best to collaborate with us now and in the future. If you are interested please send your CV and cover letter to ***@gmail.com

Locking forward to hearing from you.

Regards,

------------ end of quoted email ----------------
My email address, to which this email was sent, was probably obtained from the CV that I have uploaded to ProZ, as email sent directly via my ProZ profile is sent to a slightly different email address.

This is a point to think about: if you own a domain name, such as "mydomain.com", you can then do something like the following:
and then, when you receive emails to these different addresses, the actual email address used may give you some useful information.

Oliver
Collapse