Virtual conference for freelancers session (2010): Machine Translation Trends

This discussion belongs to ProZ.com virtual conferences » "Virtual conference for freelancers session (2010): Machine Translation Trends".
You can see the ProZ.com virtual conferences page and participate in this discussion from there.

xxxhollycric (X)
xxxhollycric (X)  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 03:29
German to English
+ ...
Why do you have to get certified to use Trados? Sep 30, 2010

I'm a first year translator looking to expand. Would you recommend Trados? Is it worth the time and effort?

Thanks!!

Vicente Aguilar
Vicente Aguilar
Paraguay
Local time: 03:29
Spanish to English
+ ...
Translatio machine trend Sep 30, 2010

Is there anyway to get your ppt or pdf presentation to share and discuss with my students.

Tks

Tomasz Szemraj
Tomasz Szemraj
Local time: 08:29
English to Polish
+ ...
trados Sep 30, 2010

Hi, you can try TRADoS and MemoQ. Both are good, only work with different interfaces. Check their sites for trials. it is easy to pick up the basics.

Regards

Oliver Walter
Oliver Walter  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 07:29
German to English
+ ...
Trados - possibly. Sep 30, 2010

hollycrichton wrote:
I'm a first year translator looking to expand. Would you recommend Trados? Is it worth the time and effort?
Thanks!!

I've only used Trados for a few hours, 9 years ago, in an MSc course on technical translation. If you don't specifically need Trados, I suggest Wordfast Classic (assuming you have Microsoft Word). You can use it free for translation memories up to about 500 sentence pairs, and learn about translation memory in the process. If you then buy a licence, it's about half the price of Trados.
Oliver

Maureen Garelick
Maureen Garelick
Local time: 01:29
English to Abkhazian
MT forum Sep 30, 2010

This was the best session i attended all day! Thanks!

Jeff Allen
Jeff Allen  Identity Verified
France
Multiplelanguages
+ ...