What shortcuts/tips do you wish you had known when you first started using MemoQ?
Thread poster: FreelanceBass
FreelanceBass
FreelanceBass
United States
Local time: 05:07
Japanese to English
Jun 8, 2017

I'm new to MemoQ and get the feeling that I could be going about things a bit more efficiently. To this end, I would like to ask veterans of MemoQ:

What features of this program do you wish you had known when you first started using it? Or what, upon learning, significantly improved your experience with the product? Anything is okay - shortcuts, general advice, etc.

Although this question will be most helpful for beginners, hopefully we could all learn something that
... See more
I'm new to MemoQ and get the feeling that I could be going about things a bit more efficiently. To this end, I would like to ask veterans of MemoQ:

What features of this program do you wish you had known when you first started using it? Or what, upon learning, significantly improved your experience with the product? Anything is okay - shortcuts, general advice, etc.

Although this question will be most helpful for beginners, hopefully we could all learn something that will improve our own respective workflows in MemoQ.
Collapse

Epameinondas Soufleros
Epameinondas Soufleros  Identity Verified
Greece
Local time: 11:07
Member (2008)
English to Greek
+ ...
Resources get corrupt, a lot Jun 8, 2017

The one tip I wish I had known before I started using memoQ is that its light resources get corrupt frequently and there's no way of restoring the data in them, for which you might have spent a considerable amount of time.

So, you need to keep in mind that there's no point in devoting time and effort in creating any kind of light resources: things like auto-translatables or ignore lists for the spell checker.

[Edited at 2017-06-08 18:10 GMT]

Elif Baykara Narbay
Elif Baykara Narbay  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 12:07
German to Turkish
+ ...
Backups? Jun 8, 2017